The NBA Anti-Awards at the All-Star Break

Posted on February 20, 2011 by


Editor’s Note: The following is from Ian Levy (of Hickory High), who has created the NBA Anti-Awards.  These are awards for actions that people tend not to focus upon (because often these are actions that don’t earn players much praise and don’t really help teams win games).  What follows is his latest update of the front-runners for these awards this season.

Ian Levy is a Third-Grade teacher by day and amateur basketball analyst by afternoon (he usually sleeps at night). Ian suffers from a rare psychological condition known as Anti-Homeritis which renders him incapable of rooting for hometown teams. He grew up in Upstate New York and has therefore been a lifelong Indiana Pacers fan. He writes his own basketball blog, Hickory High, and is a contributor at IndyCornrows and The Two Man Game.  Ian currently lives in Boise, Idaho, where he roots against the Boise State Broncos.

The Anti-Awards have been a running feature at Hickory High.  These awards recognize some of the most discouraging and disgraceful statistical achievements this season.  And with the All-Star Break upon us it’s time for another update.

The Shawn Bradley Award – This award goes to the player 6’10″ or taller who has had the highest percentage of his shot attempts blocked.

Bulls’ rookie, Omer Asik, has led this category almost the entire season. Playing against Asik can make Zaza Pachulia look like Bill Russell. He’s had 22 of shots blocked this season. This works out to 24.2% of his total attempts.

The Shawn Kemp Award – This award goes to the player who has fouled out of the most games. From 1986 up through the present, Shawn Kemp is the NBA’s leader in foul outs with 115, 35 more than his next closest competitor.

Andris Biedrins, DeMarcus Cousins and Serge Ibaka all have fouled out of 6 games this season. Biedrins has come on strong of late but Cousins would seem to have the inside track. He has the highest foul rate (5.3 per 36 minutes) and plays more minutes than any of his competition.

The Jahidi White AwardThis award goes to the player with the lowest ratio of Ast/FGA (minimum 300 minutes). The award is named for White who assisted on just 1.7% of his teammates’ baskets over a 334 game career.

Ike Diogu has made a big push and passed Robin Lopez for this award. In 410 minutes Diogu has posted an Ast/FGA ratio of 0.008. If you’re keeping track at home that’s one assist to 129 field goal attempts. With a stunning lack of passing acumen and a single-minded offensive focus Diogu seems like a lock to take this award home.

The Darrick Martin Award – This award goes to the player with the lowest FG% and a minimum of 200 attempts. The award is named for Darrick Martin, a career 38.2% shooter who played 514 games over 13 NBA seasons.

There have been a lot of changes on the leaderboard for this award throughout the season. Players who shot under 40% tend to find themselves outside the playing rotation. Rasual Butler is currently out front, shooting just 32.1% on 215 attempts. His teammate with the Clippers, Randy Foye, is currently 5th, shooting 36.3%.

The Jason Kidd Award – This award goes to the player with the most turnovers in a single game. Jason Kidd has had a Hall of Fame career with many terrific positive statistical contributions. He’s also had 3 career games with more than 12 turnovers.

Amare Stoudemire is out in front and looks like a lock to take this award home. His 11 turnover game against Washington on December 10th is currently the highest in the league. But with Stoudemire contributing 3 of the top 10 turnover games this season don’t discount the possibility of him topping his personal “best.”

The Matt Bullard AwardThis award goes to the player 6’10″ or taller with the lowest Total Rebound Percentage. (Minimum 300 minutes)

There are several strong candidates for this award and the list reads like a who’s who of soft, fluffy, squishy, finesse players. Danilo Gallinari, Donte Greene, Hedo Turkoglu, Matt Bonner, Rashard Lewis, Andrea Bargnani, Brook Lopez and Vlad Radmanovic are all in the running. Gallinari currently has the lead grabbing just 7.7% of the available rebounds while he’s on the floor. However, this race just has too many big names to project a winner at this point.

The Kobe Bryant AwardThis award goes to the player who has missed the most shot attempts in a single game. The award is inspired by Kobe’s performance in Game 7 of the Finals last season.

Kobe’s 21 missed field goals on November 11th against Denver are still in the lead. In a Herculean effort to lock up the award, Kobe also missed 19 shots on November 28th against Indiana, December 28th against San Antonio and November 19th against Minnesota. Derrick Rose appears willing to fight Kobe tooth and nail for this award. Rose has also missed 19 field goals on three separate occasions. Nick Young would have to be considered a dark horse candidate. He demonstrated he was for real, missing 20 shots January 28th against the Thunder.

The Nick Anderson Award – This award goes to the player who missed the most free throws in a single game. Anderson was actually a decent free throw shooter. But his four missed free throw attempts in the 1995 Finals against Houston kind of stand out in my memory.

Dwight Howard is really just competing with himself in this category. This season he has missed 12 free throws in a game once, 11 free throws once, 10 free throws twice and 8 free throws twice. There are other candidates out there, but this is really Howard’s award to lose.

The Chris Childs AwardThis award goes to the player who has posted the highest Turnover Percentage so far this season. It’s named after former New York Knick Chris Childs, who retired with a career Turnover Percentage of 22.8%. (Minimum 300 minutes)

Chris Duhon continues to lead the league, with a Turnover Percentage of 32.9%. Joel Pryzbilla has returned from injury and is sneaking up on Duhon. He now trails by just .2 percentage points. A few months ago this seemed like a foregone conclusion but now it seems like it will be sloppy, cringe-inducing race to the finish.

The Darius Songaila AwardThis award goes to the player who has provided his team with the least overall production. I use Wins Produced to determine the winner here. (Minimum 300 minutes)

Toronto’s Andrea Bargnani has this award all but locked up. With a WP48 of -0.106 he’s “contributed” -4.0 wins in 1795 minutes. The next closest competitor is Aaron Brooks with -2.0 wins. Barring a significant injury, Bargnani will finish the season as the least productive player in the league. One more season like this and we’ll be renaming this award after him.