Rookie Preseason Statistics

Posted on October 24, 2010 by

6


Arturo Galletti – at “Arturo’s Silly Little Stats” – has offered a few studies of rookies recently (see his “Prove me Wrong” series HERE, HERE, and HERE).  His latest – reposted below – is a quick look at the preseason rookie numbers.  In the next day or so I am going to build upon the story Arturo is telling below.

So, I’ve been working on the model, a team review and my next series all day and I haven’t had the time to pull a full post together. I did throw together a nice table on preseason numbers for rookies and I thought people might get a kick out of it:

If I look at hit rate (WP48 <.100) for rookies playing 60 minutes or more in the preseason the undrafted outperform the draftees 33% of 18 vs 28% of 32. They’re also 7 of the top 14. Yes, I know, preseason. :-)

Good night & God bless.